LABOUR have held onto Sandwell Council after a night of huge losses over the border in Dudley.

The Conservatives made gains in nine of the 27 seats up for grabs - quite a feat given the borough's voting tendencies in recent years - but Labour remain in power.

The Tories not had a single representative since 2015, when Anne Hughes lost her seat in Charlemont with Grove Vale.

Scott Chapman became the first Conservative to gain a seat from Labour in 13 years, in Friar Park, with Archer Simeon Williams gaining a seat in Princes End, David Fisher in Charlemont with Grove Vale, Liam Michael Abrahams in Great Barr with Yew Tree, Laured Kalari and Satpal Singh in Rowley ward, Jay Anandou in Old Warley, William David Gill in Great Bridge and Ian Chambers in Wednesbury South.

The result means Labour’s share of the seats on the council has dropped from 62 of 72 to 53 of 72, with the Conservatives now holding nine seats in total.

Voter turnout in Sandwell was up by five per cent from 2019, with 29.5 per cent of eligible residents heading to the polls.

Full results for Sandwell:

Abbey - Nicky Hinchliff - Elected - Labour hold

Blackheath - Kerrie Carmichael - Elected - Labour hold

Bristnall - Ellen Rachael Fenton - Elected - Labour hold

Charlemont with Grove Vale - David Dean Fisher - Elected - Conservative gain

Cradley Heath and Old Hill - Vicki Anne Darby Smith - Elected - Labour gain

Friar Park - Scott Chapman - Elected - Conservative gain

Great Barr with Yew Tree - Liam Michael Abrahams - Elected - Conservative gain

Great Bridge - William David Gill - Elected - Conservative gain

Greets Green and Lyng - Pam Randhawa - Elected - Labour hold

Hateley Heath - Kacey Akpoteni - Elected - Labour hold

Langley - Caroline Owen - Elected - Labour hold

Newton - Eleaine Giles - Elected - Labour hold

Old Warley - Jay Anandou - Elected (full term) - Conservative gain AND Harnoor Bhullar - Elected (one year term) - Labour hold

Oldbury - Rizwan Jalil - Elected - Labour hold

Princes End - Archer Simeon Williams - Elected - Conservative gain

Rowley - Laured Kalari - Elected (full term) - Conservative gain AND Satpal Singh - Elected (one year term) - Conservative gain

Smethwick - Parbinder Kaur - Elected - Labour hold

Soho and Victoria - Farut Shaeen - Elected - Labour hold

St. Paul's - Sukhbir Singh Gil - Elected - Labour hold

Tipton Green - Charn Singh Padda - Elected - Labour hold

Tividale - Maria Crompton - Elected Labour hold

Wednesbury North - Peter Hughes - Elected - Labour hold

Wednesbury South - Kirat Singh - Elected (full term) - Labour hold AND Ian Michael Chambers - Elected (one year term) - Conservative gain 

West Bromwich Central - Laura Maeve Rollins - Elected - Labour hold